Sunrise - Paul Lake

A surprisingly
chill morning with a red sun
and a quiet calm

~carliewired

My ridiculous wake up at 3 AM was caused by cold feet. I had emptied the dishwasher and was enjoying my morning coffee by 4. I'd already decided I'd take the drive up the hill to Paul Lake to see if I could catch the sunrise there. 

My garage was a comfortable 22 C but when I backed the car out at 6:15 the air temperature was 8 C. As I climbed the hill to Schedam Flats, that dropped to 2 C. I think I will be swapping my capris for jeans all too soon. 

I drove up to the community side of the lake and parked on the roadside. I noted the fire hazard sign in front of me. I walked along the edge of the lake on its west end. That tinge of forest fires smoke layered along the horizon making the sun a fiery red. It made for interesting colour in the sky and in the water. 

I caught some mallard ducks feeding along the lake shore. There seems to be some fuzzy bubbles there. Is that algae? The lake has its own 'art' with deadheads poking up. The vegetation along the shore is very much autumn already. The wild rosehips stand out red. There's red in the collection of canoes, too. I like that little dock with the two chairs. Nobody will be enjoying their coffee there this morning - it's too cold! 

I headed back down the hill on my way to pick up some breakfast. I passed a truck pulled over on the side of the road. It was facing up the hill and the driver was out on the roadway looking around. I suspect he'd hit wildlife and was checking his vehicle. There was a strip of metal on the road. I didn't see any damage to the vehicle. 

I was home before 7:30 and will remain so. I'll work on some projects and sneak in a nap. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 29 C. Smoke will seep back into our valleys in the next 24 hours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.