Smoke

A bleary morning
with grey skies and a sun that
barely can be seen

~carliewired

I reluctantly rolled out of bed at 5:30. As forecast, the wild fire smoke has capped our valleys. As I backed my car out of the garage at 6:15, the first thing I noticed was the orange moon hanging above the western horizon. I could smell the smoke inside the house just a bit with all the windows and doors shut overnight. 

I drove off to Vantage Point near the airport. It's close to my grocery store where I wanted to be at 7 AM. 

There was a crisp, brisk wind coming across the river this morning. The sky was almost lavender. I walked a short distance on the Rivers Trail watching the sky for some sign of sunrise. I found a float plane moored to the dock. I think float planes will be arriving to be stored for the winter. Their season is almost over. (Float plane storage - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2897275635875447471) Two ladies were walking a dog along the trail. It is a morning to walk quickly as there's a chill in the air. The smoke made me cough as I faced into the wind. 

I stopped for my groceries, picked up some breakfast and a very large coffee. I was home before 8 to take a shot off my deck. A feeble red/pink sun hung over my mountains. If the smoke persists, it will be a day with eerie light. 

I'm in for the day and feeling incredibly lazy. I will putter around and get a nap in when possible. 

We have a day with mixed sun and cloud. The forecast is for a high of 30 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.