Once Around MacArthur Island

Another morning
with a smoky haze to dull
the blue summer sky

~carliewired

I was up before 5 making my coffee and looking out at the hazy valleys. Wild fire smoke has lingered overnight. Air quality is 5 (moderate risk) but it is to improve throughout the day. At 6:30 I took my first photo of the day on my deck, then I left the house heading for MacArthur Island. 

My mountains didn't look much better looking from the north side of the park by the slough. The water level in the slough continues to drop. Ducks and geese are in the north side.

I continued along the park loop and found a doe with her fawn trimming the grass along the parking lot on the west side. Walkers and joggers and cyclists went by them but they were completely unconcerned. 

As I turned the corner to the south side of the island, I spotted a doe nestled under the trees. I parked 30 feet away and rolled my window down. She did not budge. 

I parked beside the Xeriscape Garden on the east side to have a look at the slough. That portion has very little water left. There are several large snags left from the high water. It much resembles a mud flat. I felt sorry for the ducks that were mucking about in it. 

I walked back through the Xeriscape Garden. I seem to find it very wet each time I'm there in the morning. I'm beginning to question its authenticity. Should it not receive what is normal rainfall in this region? That would be 14 inches annually. 

I headed for home with some breakfast. I'm in for the day working on a quilt. 

Our forecast is for a mainly cloudy day with a high of 26  and a chance of showers this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.