Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I made it!

I managed to get some sleep on the sleeper but it wasn’t easy. The beds are very narrow and I like to sleep on my right side. This meant that my face was into the wall! It was pretty quiet all night.

Helen Venus met me from the train and we went to a local café for breakfast. I had beans on toast with a large mug of tea. Bliss!

Later, I had a taxi to the heliport. My blip is of the flight before mine taking off. It’s a lovely flight lasting about 15 minutes.

The transport to St Mary’s town was with a very cheerful taxi driver. Even though I was dropped off last, I enjoyed the experience. There were quite a few day trippers.

My hotel is situated overlooking the harbour. The first extra is the view from my window. The second shows canoes but you can see the hotel in the distance. It is the large house, second to the right of the large mound. My room is top floor and to the left as you look.

I had a good walk around town and bought maps and a book of walks. Trying to work out the boat timetables is a nightmare. Basically you have to go to the quay early in the morning to hear when the different boats sail to other islands!! I’m sure it will all be fine.

And now, I’m going to sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.