Capital adventures

By marchmont

Queen of Scots

I woke early and caught up with some work on the laptop, in bed.  Then to the Commonwealth Pool for a 46 minute swim, earlier than last week.

Coffee Club were coming here so I needed to tidy and prepare.  Very good discipline.  And I watched the start of the Royal cortege travelling from Balmoral to Edinburgh.  The views of Deeside were stunning.  Sometimes I feel I miss that area.  And of course the hearse was from Wm Purves, our local undertakers who did my dad's funeral.  Apparently their website crashed after that.

We sat outside for Coffee Club drinking coffee and fizz.  The sun was swarm and we chatted about many things.  Then I rushed into town so see the cortege pass.  I was there early enough to stand at the barrier just off Lothian Road at Castle Terrace and met an almost neighbour who gave me a lift home after.

The hearse passed quite quickly but the crowd were very respectful with a few bits of applause.  It felt so sad.  Could see Princess Anne in the car behind.

Luckily the rain held off till I was home for a Zoom meeting. I am so glad I have my Netflix series.  The wall to wall coverage of the Royals is overwhelming.

RIP Your Majesty.  You served us well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.