Capital adventures

By marchmont

Nostalgia

I woke up early and did think of getting the earlier bus  but that was 6.23 so I didn't. Later I wish I had. It took more than 30 minutes to get from the Bus Station to Shandwick Place. Gridlock! We were 35 minutes late getting to Aberdeen but I was in the upstairs front seat, the weather was good and the countryside was glorious.

Lunchtime meeting at The Foyer went well and then I zoomed round the beautiful extended Art Gallery to see the Book of Deer and the Galloway hoard. Then another 2 buses, out to Newmachar to visit my in-laws' grave and plant a flower, pensee. Looked like no-one had been there for a while. 

Checked, with a bit of difficulty and then had a walk round the deserted city centre. I was shocked how empty and sad it was. Marisvhal College looked bonny in the setting sun. My office used to look over to it. And Robert the Bruce, bravely waving outside. It is over 10 years since I spent any time in the centre of Aberdeen. Many, many changes.

Disappointing food and wine, another walk. Still depressing then bed and Netflix. Unfortunately, Poldino's, my favourite Aberdeen restaurant does not open on Mondays. 

Caught some of the coverage from Edinburgh. Explains the phalanx of portaloos in the Meadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.