Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Walking from Tresco to Bryher

Today and tomorrow are the two dates in September this year when it is possible to walk from the island of Tresco to the island of Bryher.

There were so many people going to Tresco from St Mary’s this morning, that a second boat was laid on. It was pouring. For once the Norwegian weather app let me down. We were all well soaked on the 15 minute voyage.

There were no signs to tell you where to go, so I relied on other people. About 25 minutes in and the rain stopped. It was overcast all day but I have “caught the sun” and have a very red nose and cheeks.

The tide was pretty low at 1145 but lowered a bit more and I waited for that. The water was too deep for boots, so off they came. My blip shows some of the people on the beach. It was a happy, congenial affair, although the planned mini festival on the sand bar was cancelled in deference to the Queen’s death.

I enjoyed sitting on the Bryher beach and just watching, then exploring the seaweeds.

There was no more rain, but I was caught in spray on the return journey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.