Emergency Blip

Today my Blip is a phone photo taken in the waiting room of the A&E dept. of the local hospital. I have no other photos today.

I went to my Dad's this morning. His hand was no better, in fact it was actually worse, so after spending 20 minutes trying to arrange transport and another 15 waiting for it to arrive, during which I made my Dad a quick snack, we went and sat in this waiting room for around five hours. It could have been worse!

He was seen by a doctor, who referred him for an X Ray. We had a shorter wait there, during which time the very kind and helpful receptionist tracked down a Gluten Free sandwich and a yogurt for my Dad and made him a cup of tea.

Once he was X-Rayed it was back to this waiting room, which was now much busier to wait to see a nurse-practitioner. Turns out his hand is fortunately not broken but there is a lot of tissue damage, and it has aggravated his arthritis. He's been told to take painkillers, including a couple of the Zapain tonight so he can get a good nights' sleep, as he has hardly had any the past couple of nights again. He has a sling too, but he's not using it as directed as he says it is too uncomfortable.

It was after 7 PM when I was able to get Brian to come and take Dad home (along with me!) He took his tablets and was going to bed when I left. I am also shattered but I don't want to go to bed yet. I'm back there and working at night tomorrow.

Of course I will be over there again this week every day as well as working. I need time to try to arrange other care for him so it is less pressure on me, but I don't seem to be able to find that time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.