Smoke, Cloud and Light Rain

Puddles everywhere
Some rain to dampen the dust
and quench the wildfires

~carliewired

This morning looked rather bleak. I slid back into bed and slept until 7:30.
Not wanting to get into the morning rush of traffic, I headed off to the south shore just after 8. I paused long enough to purchase a large coffee. Then I drove to the end of Mission Flats Road where all was quiet and a bit soggy. 

Rain had started during the night. It's left many big puddles where I'd normally park. I picked my way carefully in my Birkenstocks. 

My first photos were a series looking along the Thompson River to make my panorama. I nosed around the puddles to capture the dried vegetation and what's left of wildflowers. The sagebrush is blooming bright yellow. Many plants are already dried to autumn crispness.

I got a look across to the far shore to see a pelican there all alone. I wondered if this is the same one I saw last time I was here. I took a shot of the housing on the north shore's river front. My last shot was a bleary look of my mountains in cloud and smoke.

I'm home for this dreary day. I will putter with jobs and maybe work on a quilt. 

The forecast is for a high of 22 C with smoke and some showers. We could also have a thunderstorm this evening. I'm grateful for the cool down. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.