Tranquille - Cloud and Smoke

The sun will emerge
through cloud and smoke sometime this
morning as promised

~carliewired

I was enjoying my coffee just after 5 this morning. I had it in mind to zoom out to Tranquille so I could pick up some groceries on the way back home. I was out the door by 6:30 keeping an eye out for big horn sheep along my route. Nada! 

I drove to the end of the road to turn around in the driveway of Tranquille Farm. I stopped for my first photo where I can usually see my mountains off to the east. Today, they were so obscured by smoke and cloud that there was merely the faintest outline in the distance. I stopped to peek into the wetlands below the road. Just one duck on the water this morning and I managed to scare it off before I got a shot of it. I moved on to the spot where I can see Tranquille across the pond. 

I stopped at the overlook to the hay fields. No coyote today. The machinery is still there but the hay has been collected and removed. Platoons of Canada geese are moving all over the hay fields. They were making a great deal of noise while marching across the fields cleaning up whatever it was they were finding. 

I stopped on the roadside above my friend's house. It seemed her yard was flooded. I called her on my cell to find out if everything was OK. She said the reservoir high above the road was overflowing and emptying water all around her house. She told me that the city crew was coming to fix the water problem and would also repair what damage there was to her yard and house. She assured me she could get out in her truck if need be. The water was very low, but widespread. I asked if she needed anything. She said she was fine. I told her I'd call again to be sure she was all right. M is my plein air painting buddy. She's keeping herself busy painting at her kitchen table until this problem is sorted. I caught her neighbour's horses near her fence then moved on. 

I collected some groceries and my breakfast and headed home. I'm in for the day with hopes that N will be here to fix some things for me. 

The smoke will continue to plague us. We can expect a high of 23 C with sun, cloud and the possibility of showers and a thunderstorm late in the day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.