On the roof of the world!

Bit of a dull day today, so we went downtown to buy fish from the pier and visit the library. I didn't really intend to borrow any more books, just to take others back, but there's always something that catches the eye! I limited myself to three as I still have four at home!

Did a bit of gardening - well potting actually - after lunch, then decided to continue with looking through my Nepal slides from 1990. I'd numbered them at the time but wanted to make a list of titles. I'd completed fifteen boxes and have three left to do.

I also have a box of maps, books and leaflets which was going to be my Blip today, but then I found a picture of yours truly sitting on a rock at Pangpema, Kanchenjunga North Base Camp, so the Blip was relegated to the extra! The new Blip was taken of the slide in the viewer, so the quality isn't very good, I'm afraid.

North Base Camp sits at around 16,732 and looks up to the summit of Kangchenjunga at 28,169, the world's third highest mountain. It straddles the border between Nepal and Sikkim. Quite a walk up to it, but glad that we didn't have to cross the glacier and climb the mountain!

After leaving Pangpema we backtracked, crossed several high passes and arrived at the South Base Camp at a mere 15,124ft. I can't even think about trying to do a trek like this now! Three weeks on the hoof!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.