The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

I got my leg over!

...the parapet, that is! That was the only part of my 50ft  sponsored abseil that was difficult. Lots of people seemed to be cheering me. I felt like a rock star for about a minute. I've raised about 200 pounds so far for Allsorts, the children's and family charity I sometimes work for in Stroud. I couldn't do the fancy bouncy rappelly footwork because I thought I might injure my foot further.

Clean Steve took the pictures. I might put some more in extras. He supported me, even though he hates watching people climbing or abseiling. Afterwards we went to the Lock Keepers' cafe in the sunshine. A march had taken place around the town, against the spate of rapes and sexual assaults on women that have taken place in Stroud of late. Women were dressed in black to symbolise their loss of freedom (I don't walk in the cemetery any more, except in daylight, with a friend). I found this sight highly emotional. We could hear the rally on the green from where we sat in the cafe gardens.

I chatted to a dad I know, and his two sons. It turns out we can help each other at work. Always useful!
Eventually we went home, via another cafe. I am trying to organise a wake/tea party in honour of my late friend GS. The cafe can help, thank goodness.

Sat in the sunshine at home and had lunch. Finished a jigsaw. Had to get ready to go to an 80th birthday party. Weirdly, still felt like wearing black and pink. Feel like I'm grieving for everything. 

Clean Steve took me to the garden party in the middle of nowhere. There weren't many people I knew there, but some shared memories of a women's writing group that I'd formed in 2000, and said that their strongest friendships had been forged in that crucible, and I should start it again, minus the windbags that I could never get to shut up...I'd totally forgotten why I gave it up! That was highly complimentary, and I was happy. 

Got a lift home early, stinking of woodsmoke from the fire. Friend S, whose party it was, has darned a jumper for me creatively, with a design that looks like fused amoebae. I like it a lot! I'm wearing it now.

Wrote the email about the tea party wake, and now I'm awaiting replies. Feel as if I've packed about one hundred days into one. Some days .... I'll sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.