Storm a-comin'....?

Very cloudy morning, high winds and a bit of light rain..so I thought I had better get out for my walk as soon as possible or I might not be able to later. Where?  The lakeshore..it is the nearest and easiest place to go..

There were not very many people there this morning..not a very welcoming day weather-wise..but I did run into a couple I had met on the trail to the cliffs the other day..Now that I am more focused on walking the paths and not going down to the lakefront just to take a photo of the sunrise or sunset and return home, I am starting to recognize faces! Hmmm.. there are "regulars" down there...Am I becoming one? 

I am fascinated by those folks who have a routine and stick to it .. who go on their walk in the same place and probably at the same time every day ... I have noted quite a number of people who walk all the way down the wharf, go right to the end and around the light beacon and then straight  back.. no stopping to take in the view...or sit for a spell; circling the beacon seems to be a benchmark of some sort on their measured walk, providing the required number of steps they need to make their quota? Sounds very "routine" to me...

I don't think I could do that...I am not a fan of routine .. in fact, I go out of my way to avoid locking myself into a routine...which has its drawbacks.. and I am sure that when I read that book for book club, I will discover that it has something to do with which hemisphere of my brain is in control!  

Anyway, unless I can change the nature of how my brain works, my challenge will be keeping up my interest in getting those steps up to where they should be..in a way that offers me variety ... and that does not mean doing the same thing every day...

Thought to self - get reading that book! It might have some answers..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.