Evening at the allotment

Well until it got dark anyway. We had a lot of branches from the hedge and the tree to burn. A tower of branches which have been there all summer, but with the extreme heat we haven't been able to have a bonfire. So after work today, Jon Henry and I went up to the allotment and spent an hour and a half burning. I pulled up as many thistles as I could - the whole site is over run with them - and they were put on the fire too. Now Jon can continue the hedge trimming. There is still a lot to do on ours and mum's hedge.

We got back and made pizza for 3. Our favourite meal of the week. Mollie is out tonight. I've had two g&t's. A sign of the times!

Now snuggled on the sofa with Jon and Ralph. Poor Ralph was out at lunchtime fighting in the field behind us. The yowling was so loud, and he wouldn't stop even when I shouted his name, so I ran round to the gateway to the field, climbed over and ran into the field to find him. Both cats darted off in different directions. A pretty grey cat, and Ralph. A short while afterwards,he appeared in the garden licking his considerable wounds. Both ears - one very bloody, and a scratch near his eye. I put a sheepskin rug in the shed for him - I didn't want blood on my cream futon. He slept all afternoon, and is now in with us. I won't be letting him out tonight. I've added a photo in the extra. He is feeling very sorry for himself, but I've checked him and think he is OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.