Shaggy Ink Cap

The stress continued this morning.  TT headed off to work early and BB and I had to leave by 7:30 to get to school in time.  We made it, but he still hadn’t packed his bag at 07:20.  In fact he declared his bag wasn’t big enough at 7:20.  At which point I nearly lost the plot, but went in search of TT’s rucksacks and offered him one of them.  The stuff was thrown in and we got to school in time.
 
I had offered to be a driver to take them to their starting point – a bus stop just outside Edinburgh.  I was asked to take a group of four girls. After my stressful morning, they were an absolute delight.  Lots of chat, and laughs and not a device in sight.  My friend had a carload of boys – she drove in silence.  We were early and they all headed to a nearby supermarket.  The boys bought a ball and the girls bought a pack of cards.  We then headed off, leaving them to get the right bus to their destination in the Borders, and three days of walking, with two nights of camping. 
 
I did a supermarket shop, then headed home to chores and to the scene of devastation left behind.  I did then head out for a run.  It was a lovely morning, but my legs felt tired.  I thought I would run my stress off, but I didn’t.  Then there was lunch and more chores. 
 
Later in the afternoon I realised I had forgotten a couple of things in my morning shop, so took a detour via the river where I bumped into my friend’s husband out walking their dog.  They have three boys, so their teen stress is three times mine.  We walked and chatted about teenage boys – that sorted my stress out!  Once home I made an oven roasted ratatouille with home-grown courgettes and aubergines, and used up the rest of the roasted tomato sauce from earlier in the week.  It was very tasty. 
 
I then pottered and eventually cleared up the scene of devastation left by BB.  TT appeared home with his sore back and man flu.  That is not a great combination – the grumpiness levels have increased!  He had an early night.
 
I spotted a few shaggy ink caps appearing in a nearby field yesterday, so I went to check on them today .
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.