Sun Peaks, British Columbia

A drive uphill and 
down to view a village built
for winter's snowfall

~carliewired

I discovered that my brother had not been to Sun Peaks so I thought it would be a lovely outing for this morning. 

Sun Peaks, an alpine ski resort, just 35 miles northeast of Kamloops, began its life in the 60s as a skiing area for local residents. My husband learned to ski there during that period and later went on to ski patrol those mountains. It's gone on to be a four-season resort with skiing and other winter sports plus mountain-biking, hiking and golf in the summery months. 

In 2010, Sun Peaks was incorporated with its first mayor. It has a population of something just over 600 but plays host to many thousands each year as visitors. Outside the village, there are homes and townhouses that support the resort and house those involved in the life of the village. 

My brother and I had a lovely walk through the village, then stopped for coffee before heading back home. 

On the way back down to the city, we stopped by Little Heffley Lake, a beautiful location. Just past the lake several deer bounded across the road in front of us. Two jumped the fence beside us while one doubled back into the woods on the other side of the road. My brother turned into a farmer's driveway so I could catch a shot of the deer. 

We were home for lunch and we're staying in for the day. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 26 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.