An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Say Cheese!

When I came downstairs this morning there was a box sitting on the hall table.  I ignored it at first thinking it wasn't for me as I hadn't ordered anything, but a quick glance at the address label showed it was addressed to me.  Very curious.  Even more curious was the writing on the box box said The Fine Cheese Company.

Took said box to the kitchen an opened it to find a wonderful wedge of delicious Fontina cheese and a note from my friend Gill (see blip for content of note :-)  

When she visited a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned an amazing recipe I have for macaroni cheese that is out of this world (I thought I made excellent Mac n cheese until I tried this recipe.  It's for special occasions only though as it is very rich!)  Her family love a good Mac n cheese so I gave her the recipe.  

Now the recipe calls for Fontina cheese, which Tesco never has, so I always substitute it with Gruyere and I mentioned this to her.  Well it turns out she and her family love the recipe and she's made it three times and as a wee thank you, she sent me the proper cheese!  What a woman!  :-))

I had planned to make the Mac n cheese when our Skye friends are here so her timing is perfect.

Spent more time today on my tulip painting.  Despite being slow, I am enjoying the process and not overthinking it.  Tomorrow sees the start of Module D of my drawing course.  The medium this month is pastel pencil and I've been looking forward to this one. I am determined not to fall behind this month (famous last words) but that might prove difficult next week when our friends are staying with us as in addition to my drawing course work,  I have two RPS online workshops on the Tuesday and Thursday. Hmmm...something may have to give.

Got another load of crochet done.  I am now on the penultimate round of the border on the additional blanket for Nikki.  Will finish it tomorrow then can get started on the border of her bed throw.  Will be so relieved to get that finished.

Watched the Strictly result show (won't spoil it incase anyone has still to watch) but was sorry for the two couples  who ended up in the dance off.  They definitely weren't the worst!  

Bracing myself for the arrival of Alan's pal Andrew tomorrow.  His birthday Malteser rocky road has been made and is chilling in the fridge.  Here's hoping he's not disappointed that it's not a cake like last year! :-)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.