Eagles and Deer

I drive to Mission
Flats, never knowing what I
might encounter there

~carliewired

I dragged my heels a bit this morning. I was hoping the flooring guy and someone from the store might appear to move my furniture back in place at the start of their day. The flooring guy texted me after 4 PM yesterday to explain he'd waited yesterday for someone from the store to come help him, but no one did. He's assured me it will happen today, but no time mentioned. I headed off to Mission Flats just before 8 leaving it to my daughter should someone ring the doorbell. 

There was mist over the river when I looked out about 7. I knew it wouldn't last long. As I drove onto Mission Flats Road I could see it moving up, thinning out and drifting over the tree tops. There was really none left when I got to the end of the road. 

My first surprise was finding an eagle perched beside the pole where the osprey had nested. It sat hunched over, but I could hear it was talking. I kept my eyes peeled to see what it was talking to. In moments, I saw an eagle swooping down over the river. Seagulls seemed perturbed by it. My camera sees better than I do. I caught it with prey over the river. It landed on the far shore and began to tear at its prize. The eagle on the perch did not join in. 

I turned around at the end of the road and started for the bridge and home. At the junction where the road meets the railway crossing, a doe came out onto the road just ahead of me. She paused long enough for me to pull over and get out with my camera. She walked hesitantly across the road and stopped at the edge of the rail line. In a few moments she was joined by a threesome coming up from the river, too. Unfortunately, at this time of morning there can be truck traffic. This disturbed them all and they turned back to the river and disappeared. 

I was home by 9:30. I'm in for the day and will cross my fingers that my furniture will be set in place sometime today. 

We have yet another sunny day with a high of 20 C. The rest of the weekend promises to be the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.