A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Theatre Royal, Bath

Last night’s first performance of Mack and Mabel at the Theatre Royal went very well although Grace was a little discomfited by a row of friends and neighbours right in front of her on the front row. They’d been moved down from the dress circle as sometimes happens when the theatre isn’t full.

She has a matinee as well as an evening performance today and so set off into Bath mid morning on her bike as she had some shopping to do first. I walked and she passed me and waved just before I got to Walcot Street.

Landrace cafe was open so of course I had to stop for a coffee and cardamon bun. I was lucky as there was only one table left.

I had some leggings to return to M & S for a bigger size for Eda so went via The Theatre Royal to get my blip for today. I only saw the girls briefly at breakfast and it will be nearly dark when they get home and as daddy is going to watch the show tonight I’ll be in charge of tea and bath time before getting them to bed. Not ideal for getting a blip.

I did pop into Seasalt and found something I like and spent a long time in Waterstones without purchase before getting the bus back to Larkhall and the HILL! Very windy today but also very warm.

Grace sent me a link at about 4.00 to a review in the Bath Magazine. 
All very positive including her performance …’ giving us a well rounded, headstrong leading lady to believe in from the start, channeling iconic theatre characters in the Sally Bowles, Annie Oakley and the Evita version of Eva Peron league to create a memorable, bewitching character (with powerhouse soaring vocals, too) …
Interesting as she played Peron at Easter.

I’ve not been in the main theatre yet so looking forward to tomorrow night to see inside and to go and watch the show myself. (There is a small theatre called The Egg at the rear where we have been to a children's production earlier in the year)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.