Road Closed

A grey day with a
detour, an entertaining
dog and some errands

~ carliewired

I've become a fairweather blipper. I have no interest in gloomy skies, wet weather or cold temperatures. It's time I left for Arizona. 

I drained my coffee pot while hoping to find some motivation to get out with my camera. By 9 AM I was out of patience, too. I headed off to Pioneer Park in the downtown. I've tried to get there several times over the last several months but there's been a huge amount of construction along the route. 

I found my way to the Colombo Lodge to park my car. I was hoping no one would notice me there. I walked along the construction area and onto the Rivers Trail, making a stop to get a shot of Mt. Peter through the trees and have a look into the creek under the foot bridge. I walked down the boat ramp and onto the sandbar to get a shot of the Red Bridge. 

I noticed a dog and its owner coming along the river shore towards me. The dog leaped into the river and began snuffling around in search of something. After a few minutes it found something and raced up the sand to its owner. She intercepted and claimed what the dog was carrying. I asked the lady if her dog was fishing. She explained that her dog always looks for a ball in the water. She said that dog toys with a whistle in them get broken, then fill with water and sink. They get lost or forgotten. Her dog loves to find them. It seems he's doing a public service finding these. 

I walked up the ramp and back the way I'd come to return to my car. I drove out onto the demolished roadway and waited in line for the flaglady to wave me on. While waiting for the digger to move, the flaglady and I had a chat. She had a theory that the long wait was completely the fault of the digger operator whom she deemed "young and arrogant". We both laughed and she flagged me on. 

I made a couple of stops and was home by 11. I'm in for the day with jobs that need doing. There are plans for a blueberry galette at some point. 

The forecast offers a cloudy day with a chance of showers. The high today is only 9 C, our first day with a single digit temperature. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.