The Southwest Corner - McArthur Island Park

A delayed start to 
my camera jaunt made all
things late this morning

~carliewired

Our weather has changed. I can feel it in my bones today. The forecast suggested we might get some showers this morning. It was dark start to the day so I slept late. I dawdled over my pot of coffee thinking I might find some energy to spur me on. No such luck. It was almost 11 AM when I drove into McArthur Island Park with hopes to find some deer. 

I parked on the southwest corner of the park. I was surprised how busy it all was. The playing fields held a raucous game of soccer. It must be the high school across the road making use of the recreation areas today. It was teenagers everywhere. The disc golf course was packed with young fellows with backpacks. Discs were flying every which way. It is very handy for the high school to have these facilities so near. 

I walked along the Rivers Trail with my eyes peeled for deer. I walked to the farthest corner where I could look out to the river in both directions. I could see down to the end of the river where it almost meets the lake and to the city's edge in the east. 

I turned back towards the parking lot when I saw a doe near the eastern edge of the disc golf course. I walked towards it slowly hoping not to meet an amorous buck or two. Two senior women came in to the area intent on photos of the deer. I was most interested in watching them watch the deer. Despite the noise on the fields and the intrusion of these women getting close, the deer grazed along in the grass quite unperturbed. 

I got my last shot of my mountains looking over some playing fields. 

No rain, but a cloudy rather grey day thus far.

I was home for noon with some groceries and a great lack of energy. 

The forecast is for a mainly cloudy day with a high of 14 C. Daytime temperatures are dropping. There's a chance we could see our first frost this weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.