Hazardous Waste

I have waited all
year for this one important
date - waste collection! 

~carliewired

THIS is a day like no other! It's Household Hazardous Waste Collection Day. Once each year our esteemed city marks a day on the calendar for them to receive the hazardous waste items that are not allowed in our curbside collection each week. 

So, after much ado, my kids packed up all the items in our outdoor storage shed that were left for us by the previous owners (22 years ago). There were pool chemicals, pesticides, paint tins and some items we could not identify. They loaded them into bins, packed them up the stairs to the garage and deposited the bins in the box of my pickup truck. It was my job to drive them to the collection location at the appointed time. 

The city cordons off the river side of Mission Flats Road for those making this special delivery today. I got into the que at 12:40 with thoughts of being there an hour or more when I saw the lineup of vehicles ahead of me. To my delight and great surprise, the line moved rather speedily. I was there and done in all of 20 minutes.

It was most fortunate to have a lovely sunny day for this endeavour. I had my camera on my front seat and made the most of it. I caught a look across the river at our airport. A helicopter took off and I caught it just above the hills north of the airport. 

When I'd finished the drop off I drove to the end of the road. I got a shot out to the lake and noticed someone fishing in the foreground. I zoomed in to see the fisherman. When I'd uploaded the shot I see he was looking back at me probably wondering why I was taking his photo. LOL!  I turned around at the end of the road and got a photo of the whole collection production on my way back to the bridge. 

I was back home and in my recliner by 2 PM. A friend from Calgary called to say she's got snow this morning. OMG!

We can expect a high of 12 C on this day of mixed sun and cloud. There's a chance of some late afternoon showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.