Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

All the colors of autumn

It was gorgeous today - sunny, warm, leaves still drifting down from the trees in our woods.  And the light this morning was beautiful, filtered through the thinning woods, so I set myself up in a good spot to get pictures and waited.  I was about 8 feet from the perch, happily photographing chickadees and titmice and nuthatches - nothing special but still fun.  I had focused on this particular branch because the background was so beautiful - and in flew a Nashville Warbler!  Seriously, he flew right into the frame, paused for about 20 seconds and was gone.  I have not adjusted the colors or exposure on this at all - this is exactly what the camera saw.  And I have to say, I'm delighted.  

In addition to a happy gift from the photo gods, I also enjoyed a nice walk with hubs and Jax.  Later, Jax and I went out to explore the yard - he got a scent of something that apparently really intrigued him because he spent about 10 minutes following his nose all over the place, with little hackles slightly raised.  I really do need to see about getting him into a nose work class.

I also spent several really enjoyable hours working on my Colombia pics.  Gosh, I'd forgotten some of the amazing birds we saw!  I also had a whole bunch of pics that I'd taken in the village of Jardin that I had never sorted so that was also fun.  

I got a box today with a bunch of bare-root native wild flowers that I am going to use in my garden.  I have to look at what I got and make some final decisions about where they need to go and then get them in the ground in the next few days.  I am already looking forward to spring - is that wrong?

I think today's dark with be with dried cherries and nuts.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.