High Winds

The wind rattled my
house throughout the night and in
to the morning hours

~carliewired

I went to bed last night with a wind advisory over us. Gusts of up to 90 km/h were expected into Thursday. The trees beside my deck were swirling in the wind already as I turned out the lights. Before dawn, the gusting wind continued, causing my security lights to flutter off and on repeatedly. 

I sat drinking my coffee while watching the light come up about 6:30. The wind has persisted through the morning. 

I left the house just after 8 to walk the Rivers Trail near McArthur Island. My first shot was looking across the river to Rabbit Island where the cottonwood trees are in autumn glory. I looked west down the river to the delta. I've never seen the river so low before with so much exposed sand. The sky was clearing and the blue showing through was spectacular. As I walked closer to McArthur Island I could see Canada geese hunkered down on the shoreline. Birds were keeping close to the ground as they were having some difficulties flying in the heavy wind. I found a patch of batchelor buttons that had escaped someone's garden. They were the only blossoms left along this pathway. 

I made a couple of stops before I made it home with some groceries. I'm meeting a friend for coffee this afternoon. It will be lovely to have a chat with her. 

We have a mainly cloudy day with a chance of showers and a high of 16 C. We are in a bit of a warming trend once again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.