Around the Slough - McArthur Island

The sun, though promised
was slow to appear to me
before I was done

~carliewired


I checked the weather forecast as I was finishing my morning coffee. It was supposed to be a mainly sunny morning, but that was not what I was seeing out my windows. I took my time waiting for the sky to clear. I left the house at 8:30 with no sun in evidence. 

I'd decided I would drive to McArthur Island this morning. I drove in at the east entrance and turned towards the north side. My surprise was finding a lovely doe walking along the Rivers Trail as if she were out for her morning stroll. I rolled down my passenger window and got a shot of her. I drove on to the parking lot, then walked up to the pathway to see the doe and a yearling step out onto the roadway near me. A buck followed so I stepped to the other side of the road to give them all more space. They browsed along the pathway and then moved down into the slough. I caught the buck in the undergrowth as they disappeared from view into the north side of the slough.

I drove to the east side of the park so I could walk to the slough on that side. I was surprised to see a red tent tucked under the trees along the edge of the slough. The water is just a trickle there and the river beyond is very low. I walked across the roadway to have a look into the slough on the northeast side. The water is low there but the colours and reflections were beautiful. 

I picked up some breakfast on the way home. I'm in for the day still sorting out after the flooring event. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud with a chance of showers late in the day. Our high temperature today is forecast as 14 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.