ROSEBUD

The only flowers in bloom at the moment in my garden are fuchsias and I blipped them recently so when I spotted some buds on my rose bush I was pleased that I had found a Flower Friday blip.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting.

I had an appointment this afternoon at 3pm to collect my new glasses from Specsavers in Newcastle.   I had some banking business to do first - lots of coins to pay in and a couple of bank transfers to arrange.  The coins were heavy so I was looking forward to getting rid of them as soon as possible.

HOWEVER .... that wasn't as easy as I imagined. In fact none of what I wanted to do in the bank was easy. I had checked on the website what time this branch closed - it was 4.30pm.  What the website didn't say was that the counters closed at 2pm.  So when I got there the only option seemed to be the self service machines.  Of course they wouldn't take my cash. I had a go at the bank transfers.  I wasn't successful. The machine kept asking for info I didn't have. And I was worried I wouldn't do things properly anyway.   So I joined the long queue for customer services.( one harassed looking lady )  When I got to the front and explained my problem I was told to " take a seat ".  So I joined a few others who had " taken a seat".  After 20 mins waiting I was taken downstairs to a little room and the cashier there was able to put trough the two bank transfers. ( once she had spent some time looking for a card reader machine )   She suggested I go to the Post Office to pay in my coins.

No time for that straight away as 3pm was looming so I headed for Specsavers still carrying those heavy coins.  I wasn't in there long and afterwards I went to the Post Office which was nearby - upstairs in WH Smiths.

Its a large post office with lots of counters.  However only one counter was manned.  So there was a long queue.  More waiting... and waiting.  However when it was my turn paying in the coins was no problem.  I was thankful to walk away from the counter without them.  Next time I have coins I will go to the Post Office in my village.  You live and learn.

Did a bit of food shopping in Waitrose and Tesco before coming home. Won't be shopping in the Waitrose for much longer unfortunately.... they are closing the branch on 12th  November. I will miss shopping there.

Steps today - 8.790

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.