Grey, Grey, Grey...

Another day with
some grim prospects for weather...
Is there snow coming?

~carliewired

I finished my coffee in the dark so I could head off to the grocery store in the dark. I reasoned that if I completed my shopping by 7:30 I could be by the river for sunrise. 

I was parked at Vantage Point by the airport in time to hear the 8 AM news on the radio. It was still too dark. The security lights were still on by the park. I was not having them in my photos this morning so I waited....and I waited....It was 8:15 when they shut off. 

I caught a plane flying past the airport. It came down above the river and just kept heading west. I looked across the river at the long scar the pipeline has left on the hillside. There were no dog walkers or joggers to be seen anywhere this morning. My fingers were freezing so I wasn't surprised that there weren't many people out and about this morning. 

There seemed to be a lot of activity at the east end of the runway. A float plane landed on the runway and taxied over to the small hangars on the south side. This particular plane had small wheels inside the pontoons so it looked rather odd moving along the tarmac. 

Several vehicles with flashing lights were parked at the far east end of the runway. Men is high viz clothing were out on the runway. One had a 5 gallon pail. I have no idea what they were supposed to be doing. Checking/replacing lights? 

I was home by 9 AM. I have a techie coming to sort out my security system this afternoon, so I'm in to stay. 

The temperature overnight dropped to 2 C. We have a cloudy day with a high of 8 C expected. There is also the threat of wet flurries or rain showers this morning. I see snow in the forecast for later in the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.