Two Valleys

I will mourn the last
of the good weather, as it
may well be gone soon

~carliewired

The temperature outside was a chilly -1C while I was relaxing in my recliner with my coffee at 5:30 AM. The morning looked bleak as the light came up so I put myself back to bed by 7:30. When I woke up 2 hours later the sun was shining and my faith in the weatherman was renewed.

I left the house just before 10 with two missions - I needed my blip and a new cell phone. I stopped along Schubert Drive on the north shore to get my shots of the north valley. 

I drove on across the bridge to drive along Mission Flats Road for my shots of the south valley. The sun was dazzling by this point. There was still frost on the ground in the shady patches. The wind had a bite to it. I put on my toque so I could stand along the river's edge. I could see white caps on the river. There have been so many windy days and nights in the last week that much of the trees have lost their gold already. I think this might be my last day to catch any colour. 

I drove up the hill to the mall to get the cell phone. Had a nice chat with the sales clerk. We both bemoaned the coming of winter, which could well be tomorrow. Neither of us care to drive in the snow, least of all with  those other zany drivers who don't really know how. 

I'm home for the day. No real plans other than more tidying. 

We have a beautiful sunny day with a high of 4 C. Overnight we may expect a low of -6 C. Should snow arrive tomorrow, it may well last a while if the ground is already cold. I will be looking for my boots today, just in case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.