McArthur Island - South Side

A morning better
than anticipated is
certainly a gift

~ carliewired

My first view out from my deck was a special surprise this morning just after 8. The forecast was not promising at all, yet the sky was clearing while the sun peaked out from under a bank of cloud. It speeded me out the door to see what else I might find. 

I picked up a very large coffee and made a short jaunt into the mall before I drove to McArthur Island. I released the last of my quilted hearts there on a bench along the Rivers Trail, number 100 for this year. I will give the hearts  a rest now until the spring. 

I parked on the south side of the island to drink the last of my coffee. I noted that the ice was still evident in the shadows. People walking were finding the pathway slippery. The radio had announced all manner of traffic issues due to the icy roads, from major collisions to fender benders and transit systems delays. The city's overnight temperature had dipped to 0 C overnight. Now at 2 C, the layer of frost and melt was making things a little treacherous. 

I watched the city's equipment pick up leaves along the playing fields. The tractor pulling machinery moved very slowly through the piles of fallen leaves. I assume the leaves are composted at the end. The island has an enormous crop of them. 

Many of the trees are bare or almost bare. There is still some lovely colour along the river. It won't last much longer. 

We might expect a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 8 C. The weather is breaking down as the week progresses. 

I'm home today, as usual. I have no plans for the day at all. I'll see what happens! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.