DERELICT GARAGE

Neil had a day off so we arranged to meet up at the Pedalling Squares cafe in Swalwell.  He was a bit late so I hung around outside.... and suddenly realised that the premises next door to the cafe would be perfect for a derelict blip.  I must have passed this old garage loads of times without taking any notice of it at all. 

I took my first shot of the whole building, then the close up of the window. Then I peered through the broken glass to see if I could see inside.  I got a pretty good shot considering it was dark in there. 

When I stepped backwards away from the window  I felt one of my feet hit something hard and round and I started to fall backwards.  I managed to do a quick hop, skip and jump and save myself and fortunately I remained upright.  But I wondered what I had trodden on.  So I moved the leaves to discover a long metal bar which had been hidden - I think its a tyre lever.  I've included it in the collage. I was going to leave it on the pavement but then my imagination went into overdrive.  I got worried in case someone with mischief on their mind might pick it up and use it to smash car windows - or as a weapon.   So I decided it was safer if it was out of sight so I put it into the garage through one of the broken windows. Better to be safe than sorry.

When Neil arrived he had Luna with him.  The cafe is dog friendly so we settled down inside.  Luna was quite well behaved.  Biggest problem with her is that she's very friendly and whenever anyone came into the cafe she wanted to rush over and greet them.  Neil had burger and chips ( Luna did get some of the chips ) and I had a nice cappuccino.

Then we had a lovely wander along part of the Derwent Walk.  Its familiar territory for Neil and Luna as thats where they go for their daily walks.  Then we went to Neils house for a bit.  I took a photo of Neil and Luna ... see Extra.

Then I got the bus to the Metrocentre.  Did a bit of food shopping in Marks and Spencer.  Then a bus home.  I came home a bit earlier than I intended as the bus I really wanted to catch was one of the cancelled ones so I got the bus before that one.

The weather today was chilly but dry. 

Steps today - 10,332

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.