Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Walking through wild radish!

I was out with the Intermediate walkers today on a 6 mile circuit from the tiny village of Ryal. We walked downhill to the Hallington Reservoir and back up hill via various fields, streams and terrible stiles.

This field intrigued us. My plant recognition app said it was wild radish. I wondered if it was a nitrogen producing crop, to be dug into the soil. More research reveals that I was partly correct. It is oil radish. The deep tap roots break up the soil and the crop can be ploughed in when in flower for best effects.

You might be able to see a few of the walkers near to the splendid tree.

Outside one isolated house, we found a tray with bags of russet windfalls, free. I was so excited. I love russets and rarely see them in the shops.  I increased the weight of my back pack considerably, but I was happy about it. There is something about the explosion of taste as you take your first bite that pleases me!

We escaped the rain until the last 20 minutes. Then it came down with great generosity.

I wallowed in a hot bath at home. It was worth the difficulty that Arth (remember him?) and Aggie have in getting me out again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.