A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Morning in Bradford

A good early walk in the dry and, as the clocks have changed,  even the early start was just about light.

Chris was filling in for the usual driver for luncheon club as he is away so I had the morning to myself. I took the bus into Bradford. I’d had an email from Waterstones to say a book I’d ordered had been despatched and then one to say it had arrived at the Bradford store. All well and good but I didn't remember ordering it especially as it’s a book I’ve recently read for Book Group. At the time I’d missed the meeting and when I found out what the new book was I downloaded it onto Kindle on my iPad. It was Claire Keegan ‘Small Things Like These’  which was why I was surprised to find it was so short. Much as I enjoyed the book I didn’t want another copy.
The shop man was excellent and offered to refund my account or I could buy something to the same value or more. So that’s what I did, I spent more of course! 
Unfortunately the cafe wasn’t open due to staff shortage so I went on to M&S and had a free cuppa and a cheese scone and managed nit to buy anything.

M & S is now in the soulless Broadway Mall that Bradford had to wait for for years. Waterstones is in the Wool Exchange one of Bradford’s best buildings and the reason why I like to support the shop as I would hate for it to close. It would have been the hub of the wool industry in the city’s woollen cloth hey day. (Top left picture)

The other lovely building is the town / city hall that you can see in the distance in the same picture and bottom right. In front of the city hall is a banner ( backwards from this position ) saying Happy Deepwali. The festival of light for Deepwali was a couple of weeks ago in late October and the signs acknowledge the cities more recent multicultural heritage.The illuminated banners will be replaced for Christmas, you can see a few in place already through the gates bearing the Bradford crest at the bottom on Ivegate. 
A pleasant little visit with a good outcome and not long to wait for a bus back home. 

It turned into a lovely day and the washing that was put out mid morning was dry enough for ironing when I got in. Another good day forecast for tomorrow and I’ve got the bed stripped already. Determined to use the tumble drier as little as possible so have to make the most of the dry days even when they are short! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.