Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stairway to ...............

When Samantha arrived to look after Mum this morning, I was nearly ready to go out. Paused for a welcome call from Geoff, who brought my new mountboard, ready for all the new prints I am making at the moment.

Then I set off for Allen Banks.

The forecast was for stormy conditions and I could see the dark skies in the north, but there was intermittent sun in the gorge. It became windy but did not rain.

I walked along the bottom path to the point where there was a no access sign. I could see this wonderful set of stone steps, so I threw caution to the wind and crawled under the fencing to photograph them.

Once there, I climbed them! I loved the light of the autumn leaves coming from above and, you must admit, it would have been churlish not to explore.

There are autumn leaves hanging on in Allen Banks. Soon they will have gone, but, for now, the views are still spectacular. The artist, John Martin, lived at Haydon Bridge, not far away and it is thought that he took inspiration for some of his apocalyptic paintings from here. See extra. 

I was back shortly after 12, then out again this afternoon for the two new tyres. Even though I allowed an hour to browse around Tesco and Aldi, the tyres were still not on when I returned. Why so long? Would they have been quicker if I had hung around in the waiting area? Who knows.

Kathleen, from chapel, came to see Mum this afternoon and later, Joan and Margaret (both from across the road) arrived. There was much laughter as I opened the front door. A very good sign!

Images best seen on black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.