After the Storm

Wind blew, snow fell and
drifted, temperatures dropped,
then the clean-up starts!

~carliewired

It was a rollicking night for weather. A snow storm blew in before dark and held on through the night. It only got down to -2 C but the windchill factor made it worse. I could hear the sand trucks moving around the city in the dark. I knew that looking out in daylight was not going to be an encouraging sight. 

I popped up the garage door just after 10 AM to take a look at my driveway. There was a large drift across the drive in front of both garage doors. The prospect of clearing it all off seemed daunting. I put a call into my 'white knight' who comes to my aid in times of trouble. He assured me he'd arrive with pickup and blade sometime later today. I expressed my gratitude and great relief. I won't have to shovel today!

I then turned my attention to the end of my driveway. My annoying neighbour had been already out with his shovel. He'd left a heap of snow in the cul de sac on his side. It is mounded to 3 feet high in the middle.  Also, he shovels for the neighbour on the other side of me as that neighbour is quite elderly now. There was another heap of snow there. I resent the fact that a) he's going against the by-law which requires one to keep one's own snow on one's property and NOT push it out to the street and b) he's affecting my ability to drive out and turn around in the cul de sac. So, I put my complaint into the by-law office again. I've been assured they will be around today to check it out. Last time I called them, he was ordered to remove the snow he'd placed in the cul de sac and he had to put it back on his lot. He saw me out there with my camera this morning, so he might well be expecting a replay. 

My deck is a testimony to winter today. It will need some shovelling. I could get a peek under the locust trees to see my mountains. I wasn't able to walk to the end of the deck for my usual shot of my mountains. That would have required snow boots. 

I'm in for the day. My daughter and I have been spending time sorting. We will have a load to take to the women's shelter and a charity shop. 

We have a cloudy day with some flurries and a high of -6 C. We might see some sunshine this week, but the temperatures may not improve. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.