In Snow

I looked for the deer
in their favourite places,
then left them in peace

~carliewired

I woke to snow on the deck at 8 AM. I made my coffee and watched the weather. The valleys were socked in. I couldn't see down to the river or across to my mountains. Visibility was poor. I decided I should go to McArthur Island Park to find the deer I'd missed previously. 

I stepped outside the garage thinking I'd need to shovel the driveway before I left. That was futile as the temperature was -1 C and the snow was iced to the driveway. I put the shovel away and headed off down the hill. I picked up some groceries and breakfast on the way to the park. 

I drove to the north side of the park to listen to the radio while I ate my breakfast. I kept my eyes peeled for deer. 

I drove along the west side where I found Canada geese taking up the field where I saw soccer players practicing just last week. They seem to prefer the grassy fields that have been well tended. What are they finding there?

I parked on the southwest corner of the park to walk along the Rivers Trail. I know the deer like to graze in the disc golf course. It is heavily treed and rather protected from the wind that sweeps down over the river. Today that wind was cold on my face. 

Recent high winds have broken big trees along the Rivers Trail. I was surprised to see huge limbs on the ground. 

I found the group of five deer. There were four does together and one young buck off by himself. I don't like to get too close. I use my zoom lens. 

The snow started to fall and the wind increased while I was watching the deer. I definitely needed my toque, boots and layers. When my fingers started to freeze I decided it was time to head home.

I'm in for the day. It would be a good day to make chicken soup. 

We have a cloudy day with a possible high of 1 C. The snowfall warning continues, so we can expect more of that white stuff. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.