A Calm -6C

An improved day to
be sure, but still wintery
white with pretty skies

~ carliewired

At 1:45 AM, orange lights flashed in my windows telling me the city snow sweeping was happening in my cul de sac. I was surprised this followed the weekend's snow storm so closely. The fellow who clears my driveway when it's beyond shovelling had been and gone about 7 PM last night. Between the two events I felt some confidence that I'd be able to get my car on the road this morning. 

I dropped my daughter at the office first, then proceeded to the women's shelter, then the used book sale to donate items they needed. With those jobs done, I drove into Riverside Park for my blip. 

I parked near the tennis courts to walk to the pier. I was dressed well today - toque, boots, winter coat and jeans. I tucked my camera inside my jacket to be safe. It was a cool -6 C.

As I approached the pier I brought up my camera to take a shot of my mountains with that lovely turquoise sky behind them. I was suddenly knocked off balance by a big dog that began to jump up on me repeatedly. I hung on to my camera and said to the dog "You are NOT supposed to be here!" So began an unpleasant exchange with the owner of the dog who was loping along with the lead in her hand, not on the dog. I informed the woman that there are NO dogs in this park. She replied that she was staying in the hotel a block away. I said that there are signs all over the park stating NO DOGS. She called me a Karen. That's when I lost it. I told her she was the Karen for assuming she didn't have to abide by our local laws. I told her to go back where she came from because we didn't need people with their sense of entitlement visiting our city. She could take her attitude with her. Unfortunate in total because, had we met elsewhere, I'm sure I could have enjoyed that dog, if not the owner! 

I took my daughter out for brunch as she's been doing all the heavy lifting and sorting for me so I could make these donations this morning. 

I'm in for the day. I need a nap and I would like some meatballs for dinner tonight. 

We've had a cloudy morning with clearing in the afternoon. It's been lovely to see the sun out today. We should expect a high of -3 C today. The next three days are to be sunny. I'll take it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.