Technology

The Tiny Tuesday theme today is " technology".   The electric lighter in my blip has no flame, no gas and no smell making it safer to use than old fashioned matches. It has a built in lithium-ion battery which is charged via a USB charging cable. It only needs a quick charge and then it works for a long time.  There is a safety lock to avoid unintentional ignition. The long rotatable neck means you can light candles in deep jars whilst keeping your hand safe from the flame. As its wind-proof It can also be used outdoors for gas appliances etc.   The technology bit ........electric lighters use arc /plasma technology which works by creating a high-voltage electrical current between two (or four) nodes, creating a highly charged plasma arc. When an object like a candle wick is in the arc its heat will create a flame.    Thanks to davidc for hosting the challenge and coming up with this interesting theme.

It was a really wet start to the day and the rain carried on during the afternoon.  I hung on before going down to the village waiting for the rain to stop.  In the end it was around 4pm when I headed out.  It was already getting dark.  Picked up my repeat prescription and did some food shopping.  On the way home I spotted that the " help yourself to apples " box had been refilled so I chose a few nice ones to bring home.  The last ones were lovely so Im looking forward to sampling the new ones.

Before I went out I made a phone call.  One of the birthday gifts I bought online for Becky and which was supposed to be delivered to her direct hadn't turned up.  I had already e mailed the company twice ... no reply.  So I decided to give them a ring.  Checked the website for the phone number and found my order number.  Then I spotted my big mistake.  I had quoted the wrong house number for Becky.  I had put number 9 and she doesn't live in number 9.  So I messaged her to see if she could pop round to number 9 to see if they had it.  Big problem.... number 9 is an empty property. The owner lives in Kent and rarely visits.  So I phoned the company hoping that the parcel hadn't been shipped yet.  I spoke to a lovely lady who said it had been sent ..... but she would send another one to the correct address,  Whew!.  Disaster averted.  And the guy from Kent will find a nice surprise on his doorstep when he next visits his house. ( Note to self ... double check details in future )

Bake Off this evening.  One of my favourites left the tent.  But my other favourite is still there and hopefully they will have a good week next week and will triumph.

Steps today - 7,073

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.