Just a Glimmer

A day of grey skies
does nothing to encourage 
me to take photos

~ carliewired

I was up early pushing the bins out to the curb for collection today. We're not to have them on the street before 4 AM but my neighbours seem to largely ignore that edict. They like to put them out the night before they are collected. 

I made coffee before 6 and had breakfast before 7. Then I rolled back to bed in hopes of reclaiming some sleep I'd missed. 

Some office jobs tangled up the rest of my morning. We have a leak in an outside tap to repair. In this weather, it's almost frozen solid at the moment. We won't be able to tackle it for a couple of weeks. We can hope that it might warm up at least a bit before that job starts. It's miserable work in cold weather. 

I stopped at Vantage Point to have a look at the river there. I see a portion of the dock has been removed for the winter. All float planes must be in and accounted for by now. I saw a pair of goldeneye ducks and a pair of grebes near the dock. I was using my cell phone so zooming in was rather hopeless. There's patches of sloppy ice floating downstream and sloshing against the pilings. The sky was grey and the visibility was low. 

I picked up some groceries and a hot cup of coffee on the way home. 

We didn't get that mix of sun and cloud we'd been forecast. Just an ugly grey sky for us. Our high got to -6 C in midafternoon. We might not expect to see another sunny day until Monday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.