Sheepish!

A "Dad" day today... I went over on the train. On my walk through the village I spotted the "Artisanal" bread and cheese van. I bought a croissant, a cherry tomato and herb flatbread and Leicester cheese for me and another bit for my Dad. Not cheap, but very tasty! 

All was pretty much fine there really. He has yet another mobile phone - one of those very simple ones that are designed for older people. Hopefully this will not go the way of his past ones and die from lack of use. It was on charge when I left. Later this afternoon (At a crucial point of the Rugby League World Cup semi-final) I got a call to say he could not find the sim card. I told him where I'd last seen it - he thought it may have fallen into my bag and come home with me! He's not called back again so hopefully it turned up. Not much I can do from here if not...

Brian collected me and we came home, stopping along the way to get a Blip. My aim had been to photograph the sheep, but they refused to look at me! So I made sure I included this building in my photo. 

I've been intrigued by this structure for a while. It stands in the middle of farmland and looks disused. Maybe a local person will know what it is. I suspect it may have had a military purpose at some time, probably RAF.

As for the Rugby League, like last nights' semi final between Australia and New Zealand it was a very close game - even closer than last night's game in fact as it went to Golden Point extra time. England's lack of composure led to silly errors which cost them the game against Samoa The Pacific Islanders looked like a much different side from the one beaten 60-6 by England in the first round of the tournament only a month ago.

It is disappointing for England, who before today looked like they could beat any of the teams, but I'm really pleased for Samoa, who have reached the final for the first time. I'm sure they will give their all against Australia too.

After the match we went down to Curry's to collect my laptop. I will spend at least part of tomorrow getting to grips with it, and I may even Blip it! Unless Brian feels like going out with me to look for one somewhere...

Tonight I'm joining Brian for a night out, having confirmed that I won't be working tomorrow. Only to the local pub opposite the chippy I used to work in (Still do occasionally...) They have a live band on - they play rock music though I don't think it's the type I like. It will be OK after a gin or two I'm sure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.