Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Pelléas Ensemble

Tonight I was at the Queens Hall, Hexham for the Hexham and District Music Society's concert. My ticket was courtesy of friends Liesbeth and Roger, because Roger could not go. Liesbeth picked me up too, so I did not even have to drive there.

The Pelléas Ensemble consists of three fine musicians who met at the Guildhall School of Music. They are Henry Roberts, flute, Luba Tunnicliffe, viola, and Oliver Wass, harp.

After the concert Oliver invited us to meet him while he dismantled the harp. The stage lights had been switched off and he was bathed in pink and yellow low lighting. Not one to miss a challenge, I took his photo, but mono was the only option for the image! I did try to reduce the sickly pink and yellow, but it was impossible.

The trio were very enthusiastic. I particularly liked the arrangement of four songs by Rebecca Clark. The poems they were based on were read before each arrangement.

There were more arrangements than I would have chosen in this concert, some more effective than others. However, the original trio, Petite Suite, by Jolivet was wonderful. So very, very French! 

I've been at home today working on prints. Then I had to have a sleep this afternoon! It meant that there was no risk of falling asleep in the concert.

Margret (next door) did a wonderful job of taking our friends Jenny and Dennis to the concert. I was able to help a bit, when Jenny had to get back into the car at the end, but Margret was parked at the door of the venue. Brilliant organisation on her part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.