Capital adventures

By marchmont

Exemption

Tuesday's in the pool are always quiet, the way I like it. The skies were glowering when I emerged just after 8 and the weather rapidly deteriorated to be wet most of the day. I made the sensible decision to stay in Edinburgh.

H came up as her mini was getting a new battery. The heating was on in 5 spaces! The replacement robe arrived which was fortuitous.

I worked on staffing and accounts in the morning and after lunch had a grumpy meeting with the Apex team. That led to more work as the midnight hour approached. 

I left spreadsheet world shortly to complete some forms, charitable rates exemption, setting up DDs and trying to solve debit card and energy bills conundrums. The latter required phone calls. 

Later I had another one of these stranger than fiction happenings. Turns out my co-worker was great friends with neighbour G's first wife, K, who it then transpired died 14 years ago today. They met because the work K did on violence against women. She was a well known expert on this. 

Y and I went to SCD. I was struggling as my left leg has strain and pain which can be laid at the door of last week's Suzy Q's at tap. 

I'm feeling slightly less overwhelmed but only slightly. Now I have to fit in an optician's check up too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.