Weather

…it’s the sort of weather that if you don’t like it, wait awhile and it will change to something else. Last week I put away my winter clothes but kept out a couple of things just in case. Today has been really cold and sleeting, snow on the road out of town. I’ve been in winter clothes ever since my clean out. 

Most of the local roads are open after the floods but there is damage to some bridges and potholes. The towns further west are having an awful time with record floods. Some are flash floods with one town (Eugowra) which had the creek came up suddenly and affected nearly every building in town and washed a couple of people away. Quite a lot of the state has road closures. Warren has been isolated for weeks. Forbes is awaiting their second major flood in a week. All western rivers are in flood. Our state is large so it’s not like it is an isolated problem. 

Our flood on Monday was 35cm below the last big flood in 1998. At that time it came up to our house so we are thankful for the levee banks which have worked well. 

My rose bushes are so heavy they are almost lying flat. I picked this bunch of red roses ( Kardinal) and I’ll tell you, they have too many thorns for my liking. 

I picked Maddy up from school and we went up to the shops for some yarn. She is teaching herself to crochet and is making a jumper out of scraps. It will be unique. Later we drove her home and viewed the debris from the flood out there. The creek  rose to a high level and huge logs and a shipping container were washed down through their village. While out at her place her dad gave us two paintings that our friend Grange ( his father) had done 20 years ago. I will blip them soon. 

I’ve been minding the neighbours pets, Bella the Kelpie and Jingles the fluffy cat. They are happy to come in here as it’s lonely without their owners. Then I cooked the last of the tofu in a stir fry with veggies. I can’t say it’s my favourite food but edible. 

Extra shows two books I didn’t finish. One is borrowed from my sister and I just don’t like the short stories. I’m not sure if it’s the characters or way it’s written. I will return it when I see her.  The other is a gardening book I didn’t enjoy and didn’t learn anything from so thought it can go in the op shop next time I go. I finished the third novel by Richard Osman (The Bullet that missed). Loved it. 

I had nothing planned today so it filled up with activities nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.