Virginia Vacation ...

… Day 6.

Of all the days of our vacation I’d have to say this was my favorite!

We started the morning by touring some more battlefields in Spotsylvania and Falmouth counties before heading to Chatham Manor in Fredericksburg, Va.  This is a National Military Park and was simply lovely.  The manor was built in 1771 by William Fitzhugh and has quite a history ... as can be read here.

The manor was open for touring with a lovely ranger on site to answer any questions you might have.  And the grounds … what can I say about the grounds?!? They were amazing!  My main collage shows just some of the highlights.  I was amazed by all the different butterflies enjoying the flowers.  Besides the monarch butterfly pictured we also saw a monarch chrysalis!  It’s crazy to think there is still one around this time of year!  I hope it finished its process and became a beautiful butterfly. 

We spent quite a bit of time there as you can imagine before returning to our cabin.  After dinner we went down to the lake again where Richard drew our initials in the sand … see second Extra.  My other Extra is of one of the many cannons we saw this morning touring the battlefields.  This was taken at Hazel Grove Battlefield. 


Backblipped: November 21, 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.