A Mixed Day

I went shopping first thing .... and their self scanning/paying system crashed as I was about to pay.
A minor inconvenience - which turned into a major annoyance.
When I got home I found that the discounts were not applied. Not a great deal of money - but a point of principle.
It was about that time that SWMBO received an e-mail to say that an item she had ordered was in the shop. So, after breakfast it was back down to the shop.
The woman at the customer services desk is the last person you want in that post ..... she doesn't listen (No lady it was not 'down' before I started the payment system .... it crashed whilst confirming the details of my card), makes up her own mind about what problem is about (always wrong), always tries to avoid giving refunds (no matter how small) and always has to phone a manager to make a decision for her.
We got our refund, collected the pre-ordered item and found 2 pairs of jeans for me at less than 1/3rd of the price. A win.

After mid morning coffee, I went out and cut down a 15' spruce tree using a pair of secateurs and a hand saw. It came down where I wanted it to ... avoiding the bathroom window, the porch over the front door and the large shrub next to it. I knew that Forestry badge I did in Scouts would come in handy.
Apart from the main trunk it, all got chopped up and put in the garden waste bin. The trunk is now in the garage awaiting its turn on the lathe.
I also swept up a load of leaf litter from the garden and bunged that in the bin. 
The bin men on Thursday may be a bit confused as to how the bi weighs so much when it is only half full.

We had a slow walk this afternoon.
I took the infrared camera (thus the funny colours). I mucked about with it (and the other two shots I took) and bunged them over here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.