Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Getting ready

(3/12/22)

It's the start of a new week and G's new Monday timings, which means we don't have to be out of the house by 8 AM. I did a few hours in the morning, loving my new ultrawide screen. Mind, I worked until 1 AM, so I wasn't too keen to be at it again.

I decided to drive G to school and wait the two hours she was teaching, working from Costa. We called in at Dubai Mall to pick up Advent Calendars on the way home and then called into Wafi to get some medicines. I've decided to take the antibiotics the GP prescribed a couple of weeks ago. So here is another tale of something that is unique to this city.

The pharmacy in Wafi didn't have the tablets mentioned on the prescription. Their alternative was double the price, so I went back to the clinic's own pharmacy. The guy there looked at the date of my prescription and said he couldn't give them to me because it had been more than a week. I wouldn't accept this reason, so he called his supervisor, who said the same thing. So, I went to the pharmacy closer to me (the one who have been delivering my meds recently). They gave me the tablets without asking any questions whatsoever. It's a good thing I'm learning to stay calm and find ways to deal with the stupidity that is in abundance in this town.

My picture is taken in Wafi, where they are getting ready to celebrate the UAE's 51st birthday on the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.