Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lost…

Archie went off out with his favourite person, and we popped down town to avail ourselves of the John Lewis offer of free Prosecco and cake for two. T’was too good to miss out on, and this was the last day. 

Town was mobbed. Edinburgh’s newest landmark was glowing in the afternoon sun. (Extra)

Yes, there was a queue to the café, as we knew there would be, but it moved quite quickly, so I didn’t get too stressed. But when we got to the counter we were told… they had run out of Prosecco!! Tragedy! However, a very acceptable flat white and long black were accepted, and very good (ie non-crumbly) scones instead of cake. And we had a view too, so we were quite happy.

We spoke to a staff member on the way out, who admitted it was a supply issue - they couldn’t get hold of enough small bottles of Prosecco/Champagne because the airlines buy them all up, and there’s a shortage of glass.

I then decided to come home, while JR wanted to browse around a bit more. So I set off down the escalators. And I got lost! I could not find my way out of the shop, and when I did, it was the wrong door and the mall exit was miles away. The place was crowded and I did not like it at all. I went back into the shop to find the way out I knew - the back door by the buses. A bit more of a wander till I began to get slightly panicky, then I had to ask a staff member. JL have changed all their departments around, and I used to know the way out - down to cameras and iPads, along past sheets and towels, then down the escalator to carpets and out the back door. Easy peasy. I’m sure I’m not the only person wandering around trying to get out!

Or maybe I am…

Elizabeth stayed for a glass of bubbly with us, as it was her birthday last week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.