Numbers

Started the day with a visit to the optician. The left eye is unchanged. The right is on a voyage of its own moving 2 points from being shortsighted to long sighted.  The lovely optometrist told me I could come back in 2 years as, though well over the threshold for annual visits, I was still young. 

Bought petrol. The price is slowly reducing, a little and went to the Manor for more numbers. 

J came across after lunch to talk cats and then I wrapped presents. That always takes longer then I think it will. 

It got colder as the day progressed and by the time I nipped up to Straiton it was a very low numbers outside. There was a grrr moment when I realised I should have bought the Pets at Home litter when I saw it. Out of stock now.
.
A quiet evening. The 1921 census has finally dropped so had a look at that with Lucy Worsley and Agatha Christie on in the background. 

In 1921 my grandmother, aged 14, was working as a live in maid at Glenholm, a house in what was then Lauriston Rd, near the Castle, but seems to have been renamed. The head of the family was the widow of the man who has been the rate collector for Cramond. She was the only sibling living away from home. On the other side of the family my grandfather's brother appears twice, in his mother's house in Drummond Street and in his in law's house in Fifth St, Newtongrange. Now that is a feat. His sister was a rubber shoe maker at the NB Rubber Company.  Census records are just fascinating. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.