-6 C/ 21F

Another morning
with subdued light and a small 
hint of sun to come

~carliewired

I got my first shot of my mountains this morning after my coffee. The sun edged its way under the banks of cloud just for a few moments. Then it was gone again. The valley skies are grey and dismal. We might see some sun today.

I drove off to Mission Flats before 10. I stopped across from the airport tower on the other side of the river. I spotted eagles on the river so I started to look for more. Several were perched in the trees along the river, so I parked and walked along the roadside to get a better look at them. They were a mix of adult and juvenile eagles all intent on watching the river. They took turns flying off over the river, then returning to their perch in the trees. They called to each other. Meanwhile a number of crows were also in the trees and flying about. I watched a pair of them make advances on a juvenile eagle on a branch. They edged closer to the eagle and one pecked the eagle. I was a little surprised by this harassing behaviour as I didn't think it could end well for the crows. The eagle just shook out its wings and the crows retreated quickly. 

I got my shots of the eagles, then had a look at the shoreline and the far look out towards the lake at the end of the river. I will be grateful for some sun if and when it appears. I'm never content with a grey landscape. 

I'm in today with hopes that N will arrive to get some jobs done for me. Hoping for a nap in the late afternoon. 

The forecast is for a mainly cloudy day with a high of -6 C. The trend seems to be for a bit of warming as the week advances. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.