Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The lorry run

This is the second year of the lorry run from Kielder to Hexham. There were more than 30 vehicles tonight and the majority were timber lorries. They came through Humshaugh and all but one person had moved their cars from the main street to give them easy access.

I'm not sure how this raised money for the Northumberland Air Ambulance and for Santa's Little Helpers. The latter supports families who are in poverty in rural Northumberland. (It's impossible to live there without a car and many families are very isolated.)

Photographing moving lorries with their headlights on in the pitch darkness is not for the faint hearted. Just not easy.  

My neighbour Dick was standing near to me and waving, so I snuck behind him and shot a few images. I like this one because the flare makes it look as thought the lights are shining through him!

In other news, I went shopping in Hexham and picked up Mum's new specs. I had coffee with the other Marjorie and Pauline, to celebrate their birthdays (one today and one tomorrow). 

When I arrived home it was to hear that Margret (next door) had caught one leg when climbing a stile and lifted a big skin flap. I went and dressed it for her - a better option than going to A & E for a long wait. 

Back home to give Mum a late lunch and be ready for Rosemary and Lindy who came to visit. They are embroiderers. Rosemary brought a lot of her work for Mum to see.

I did a text checking job for my Danish friend - back for a second revision. Then I put up the tree. Just the tree, no lights, no toys yet!

I cooked a pork casserole and took some for Margret, who I had instructed to REST her leg.

Then I stood an froze outside waiting for the lorries. They were about 45 minutes late, but it was fun to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.