Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Brothers Gillespie

It was bitterly cold today with temperatures remaining below freezing all day.

I managed to dress our tree with three sets of lights, but I decided (when I lay awake at 4am) that I can leave the rest of the decorations until I return next weekend. (I'm off to Bamburgh for a few days of photography on Monday.)

Going away so close to Christmas may not be wise, but I'm very much looking forward to the opportunity to photograph the coast when there is snow.

Tonight I drove to Wark for a folk concert. Ian K Brown organised the gig and he opened the evening. I missed the first song because I arrived with no battery for my camera (and no memory card) so I had to drive home and back again!!

The main act were the local duo, James and Sam Gillespie. Their parents live in Wall, which is the next village to Humshaugh. I've been following these young men for a few years. They are excellent musicians who have gained in confidence over time. This year they were on tour around the UK and I can only hope that they come to more prominence.

The lights behind them changed from red to purple to blue and so on. They were in shadow. I did my best.....

There are loads of images to sift through then edit the best. Here is the first one I thought was OK. I always try to avoid the microphones, but it is just not possible.

I came home for 11, leaving the concert in full flow. The roads were still dry and safe and my car had not frosted over. Only -4 degrees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.